Monument of Luther in Lutherstadt Eisleben

Fascinating Fact

The remains of his tombstone indicate that Martin Luther lived for 63 years.

A bit of Fun

On November 11th, St. Martin's Day, the traditional Martinshörnchen is baked throughout LutherCountry. It's a yeasty bun shaped like a croissant and you can spread anything you like on top of it.

Tourist information

To learn more about Lutherstadt Eisleben and its attractions, simply visit the city's official tourist information website!

Visitor Resources Lutherstadt Eisleben

For further information, please click here.

Lutherstadt Eisleben

The Luther Connection

Martin Luther was born in Eisleben in 1483. He returned many times throughout his life and, in a poetic close to the circle of life, died here in 1546. Today, there are still families with the last name Luder (his original family name) living in the area.

The city

Eisleben claims to have introduced the world's very first 'heritage tourism' site: Martin Luther's birthplace ('Geburtshaus'). Back in 1693, visitors paid money to see the bed where Luther was born and original 15th-century soot in the chimney. Nowadays, the exhibition "Where I come from – Martin Luther and Eisleben" tells the story of the man and the town.

Luther was baptized in the church of St. Peter and St. Paul on November 11th 1483, a significant date in the Lutheran calendar. The font where Luther was baptized still remains, and a new, so-called 'Luther Font', was erected as a tribute to the Great Reformer.

In 1516, the Church of St. Anne was consecrated by Martin Luther, who was the district’s vicar in Meissen and Thuringia at that time. Due to his influence, it was the first protestant church to be built in the region of Mansfeld. Contiguous to the church, the former Augustine monastery can be found. In 2008, seven monk’s cells were rediscovered during renovation works. Thanks to the renovation, the only existing monk’s cells from Martin Luther’s period of time are now left to posterity.

Luther returned many times throughout his life and in 1546 just before his death; Luther gave his very last sermon within the walls of the church of St. Andrew. With its eleven narrow steps, the pulpit from which he preached is still used today for major religious occasions.

On 18th February, he passed away and the house in which he died can still be visited today. It is a skillful late-Gothic reconstruction of the original house and contains a museum dedicated to Luther and the history of the Reformation. The house has been an UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1996.

In February 2013, the building was reopened after two years of major restoration and extension of the museum. A new exhibition, "Luthers letzter Weg" (in English: Luther's last path), now chronicles his passing and reveals Luther's attitude to death. Now for the first time in history, it is possible for visitors to explore all chambers of the building. The new exhibition contains about 110 exhibits, including historic furniture, documents and signatures, as well as the original cloth that covered Luther's coffin.

 

<< Back to all LutherCities


Copyright © 2011, All rights reserved.